Luis Suarez

Barcelona striker Luis Suarez has won the Pichichi award for the top scorer in La Liga and becomes the first winner other than Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo since 2009.

The former Liverpool striker finished the campaign with 40 goals, beating Ronaldo into second after he ended the season having found the net on 35 occasions.

Suarez ended the season in style, as a hat-trick in a 3-0 win away to Granada won the league title for Barcelona and handed the Uruguayan the individual award.

Aside from Suarez and Ronaldo, Messi scored 26 times during the season, though he spent two months on the sidelines recovering from an injury during the first half of the campaign.

Suarez’s fellow Uruguayan, Diego Forlan, was the last man to win the prize before Messi and Ronaldo dominated, with both having won three times during their illustrious careers.

Previous articlePele on Messi: I am “the king” of football and he is “the prince” of football
Next articleBarcelona is La Liga champion
Michael Eli Dokosi is a journalist and a formidable writer with a decade's experience. He is a blogger as well who currently owns and manages the news portal The site is a wholesome news platform with entertainment, political, general, sports, negroid and foreign news offerings with the tagline 'More than Straight News' because of its alternate take on issues. The blakkpepper name emerged because the site is Afrocentric and hot. The Managing Editor can be reached via cell line (+233) 0249907425 & (+233) 0262907425 and via email for adverts, enquiries and news coverage invites.