by: michael eli dokosi/

This year’s All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) has been held at the Eko Hotel & Suites in Nigeria. The show attracted African entertainment notables and politicians.

Nigerian acts; Tiwa Savage, 2baba Idibia, YCee, M.I, Simi, Ycee, Orezi all went home with awards while Wizkid secured 3 awards on the night, scooping the Song of the Year, Artist of the Year & Best West African Act (Male).

Music legends Oliver Mutikudzi (Zimbabwe) and Salif Keita (Mali) received an AFRIMA legendary Award each.

There were performances from Toofan (Togo), Vector (Nigeria), Emtee (South Africa), Ewube (Cameron), Tiwa Savage (Nigeria), Thandiswa (South Africa), Harrysong (Nigeria), Rue (Zimbabwe), Ed Isaac (Nigeria), Nsoki (Angola), Falz (Nigeria), Qritical (Kenya), Simi (Nigeria), Henok & Mehari Brothers (Ethiopia), Sheyi Shay (Nigeria), Ycee (Nigeria), Becca (Ghana), Montess (Cameroon), Gilad Milo (Kenya) and Locko (Cameroon).

Below is the list of winners:


Artiste of the Year: Wizkid (Nigeria)

African Fans Fave: The Dogg (Namibia)

Album of the Year: Eddy Kenzo – Biology (Uganda)

Best African Collaboration: Alikiba – ‘Aje’ ft MI Abaga (Tanzania)

Best African Contemporary: Wande Coal – ‘Iskaba’ ft DJ Tunez (Nigeria)

Best African Electro: Nsoki – ‘Africa Unite’ ft DJ Maphorisa, Paulo Alves (Angola)

Best African Group/Duo/Band: Toofan – ‘Tere Tere’ (Togo)

Best African Hip Hop: Ycee – ‘Juice’ (Nigeria)

Best African Jazz: Nduduzo Makhatini – ‘Igagu’ (South Africa)

Best African Pop: Toofan – ‘Tere tere’ (Togo)

Best African Reggae, Ragga, Dancehall: 2Baba – ‘Holy holy’ (Nigeria)

Best African RnB and Soul: Alikiba – ‘Aje’ ft MI Abaga (Tanzania)

Best African Rock: Gilad – ‘Angel Uriel’ ft Omer Millo (Kenya)

Best African Traditional: Halmelmal Abate – ‘Harar’ (Ethiopia)

Best Female Inspirational: Asikey – ‘Earth Attack’ (Nigeria)

Best Male Inspirational: Gilad – ‘Angel Uriel’ ft Omer Millo (Kenya)

Most Promising Artiste of the Year: Neza – ‘Uranyica’ (Rwanda)

Song of the Year: Wizkid – ‘Come closer’ (Nigeria)

Revelation of the African Continent: Shyn – ‘Resim Pitia’ (Madagascar)

Producer of the Year: DJ Coublon – ‘Yolo Yolo’ by Seyi Shay (Nigeria)

Songwriter of the Year: Simi – ‘Smile’

African Legend Award: Salif Keita (Mali) and Oliver ‘Tutu’ Mtukudzi (Zimbabwe)

Video of the Year: Adasa Cookey – ‘Cooking Pot’ by Orezi

Central Africa (Best Female): Montess – Love Witta Gun Man (Cameroon)

Central Africa (Best Male): Locko – Supporter ft Mr Leo (Cameroon)

East Africa (Best Female): Nandy – One Day (Tanzania)

East Africa (Best Male): Henok & Mehari Brothers – Firkir Yishala (Ethiopia)

Southern Africa (Best Female): Thandiswa – Nontsokolo (South Africa)

Southern Africa (Best Male): Emtee – We Up (South Africa)

West Africa (Best Female): Tiwa Savage – All Over (Nigeria)

West Africa (Best Male): Wizkid – Come Closer ft Drake (Nigeria)

North Africa (Best Female): Ibitssam Tiskat – Menak Wla Meni (Morocco)

North Africa (Best Male): Shayfeen – Wach Kayn Wader (Morocco)

Previous articleSouth African socialite, Zodwa Wabantu reveals lady part at 2017 Feather Awards
Next articleVodafone CEO joins staff to ride to work
Michael Eli Dokosi is a journalist and a formidable writer with a decade's experience. He is a blogger as well who currently owns and manages the news portal The site is a wholesome news platform with entertainment, political, general, sports, negroid and foreign news offerings with the tagline 'More than Straight News' because of its alternate take on issues. The blakkpepper name emerged because the site is Afrocentric and hot. The Managing Editor can be reached via cell line (+233) 0249907425 & (+233) 0262907425 and via email for adverts, enquiries and news coverage invites.